In many countries, people now wear western-style dress such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

There is no denying that people have the freedom to choose what to wear. Although every nation has their own traditional clothing and designs, nowadays, individuals mostly wear western-style dress. I think this is a positive development as a result of growing western influence and fasion industry. There are many different ways that can make a huge impact on people ’s attitude when selecting clothes. For example, in movies, mostly celebrities wear clothing related to the western culture, which is highly attractive. As a result, people worlwide tend to immitate them, and start wearing the same way. Furthermore, the availability and the low cost of these clothes play a vital role in getting popular globally. For instance, anyone can visit the Amazon website, and can find a deluge of knock-down deals on USA or UK based garments. When people find clothing as they wish and for a low cost, they are seemingly be happy. Besides, the fast growing fashion indusrty in western countries has boosted the popularity of western clothes all over the world. As there is no monopoly in this field, and with a lot of competition between fasion designers, everyday, new clothing styles are emerging whereas traditional styles in some countries have very little changes. Therefore, as people like to be fashionable, the demand is increasing rapidly. A good case in point is, in Colombo, during office hours, all male employees can be seen in a two-piece or three-piece suit and women in jeans and blouses. When people wear fashionable clothes, they feel confident themselves. So this is also positive for a society. In conclusion, even though there are cultural based clothing, western-style dress have become common because of its great influence and different fasion. However, people need to achieve a balance on clothes between their own culture and the western culture.