In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

In recent times shopping has become more of a pastime, whereas it was previously considered as a duty by most people. I do believe that this transformation has its benefits, even though there are downfalls to it too. Today adults have the opportunity to spend their money on things that are not necessary, while before they could not do that since the economy was much frailer. Having the possibility to treat shopping as a hobby means that the economy is benefiting from it. In fact, the population is going shopping more often, just because they like it and because they can actually spend part of their salary on objects they want but are not needed. Thus, shops are mostly full of buyers and they’re able to grow and expand, giving the chance to grow to the economy too. On the other hand, there are also negative aspects to regarding shopping as a leisure activity. Indeed, considering this activity as a pastime doesn’t necessarily mean that people will go out of their way to buy things in a shop. It has become clear, instead, that people would much rather be buying online since they can freely see what is available and they can be while being in the comfort of their own home. In addition, this situation has worsened since the pandemic, due to the fact that adults weren’t allowed out of their houses without having a reason to do so. For example, I began shopping online during the lockdown and I never stopped, although I could now go out and buy things without problems. Therefore, shops could very much disappear due to this new habit of shopping like it’s a hobby. In conclusion, I partly agree with the idea that shopping as a leisure activity is something positive, although I do believe it has its downfalls.