In some countries, university students live at home, while in other countries, university students go to other cities rather than live with their family. Do you think the benefits of living away from home outweigh the disadvantages?

In this contemporary world, some college-goers choose to attend a university in their hometown while others want to travel across the country, attending in a faraway university. In my perspective, the merits of living away from family outweigh its demerits. On the dark side, being far from home can be difficult. One of the main disadvantages is loneliness. As moving to a new town or country, students may suffer from culture shock, language barriers and homesickness. People must get used to a new routine, widen their social network, maybe also the cuisine there. This can be very frustrating and require people to strive for it. Turning to the other side of the argument, living far from home is not always non-beneficial. To be more precise, making new friends can be extremely pleasurable. These new friends can broaden your horizon, help you with your school’s work. Another benefit is that college-goers can raise their awareness of being independent. They must learn how to be punctual, sometimes new skills or even their orientation. These kinds of experiences really develop college-goers as a person. Besides, some students who leave their hometown can seek a better education system. For all the aforementioned reasons, an independent student life that is far away from family brings more advantages than drawbacks.