Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others think that the circumstances of a crime, and the reason for committing it should be always considered when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some individuals argue that the circumstances of a crime, and the reason for committing it should be considered whereas others believe that fixed punishments should be given for each type of felony. According to this notion, the intent of the felony should be taken into account before giving the punishment. In other words, if a teen is stealing food due to hunger and poor living conditions, he should be treated differently than those who steal habitually as the teen had no choice whereas the robber did the deed intentionally. Moreover, the situations revolving around the deed also create a difference and this needs to be evaluated properly in order to reach the final judgment as some crimes cause no harm and can be seen with leniency. For instance, jumping a red light at 3 in the morning with no traffic causes no harm and decisions should be made about that. On the contrary, there are individuals who argue that a crime is a crime, no matter how small or large and fixed punishments should be given based on the law and no leniency should be shown as they are seen as offenders in the eyes of the law. Moreover, this approach helps people foster predictability in the judgement to be given and allows for fair judgement to be made. In addition to this, the following approach also acts as a deterrent and people are aware of the consequences that would definitely occur to them if they proceed to perform that felony. In conclusion, both perspectives have their own merits. With fixed punishments, each person needs to go through the same procedure even if their intent was not bad; nonetheless, if circumstances are taken into account the potential for exploitation is huge.