Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

People have different views about how can be valuable for youngsters to learn the skill of competing. While others claim that it would be better for them to develop a sense of cooperation. Personally, I believe that children, who want progress in their life, need to learn more about how to be cooperative than being competitive with others. On the one hand, there are some reasons that why people believe that exposing adolescents to the competition may be favourable for them. Firstly, this method helps adolescents to expand their comfort zone. In other words, little healthy competition can allow youngers to experience instability and uncertainty and therefore they become independent and grow their personality. Secondly, being competitive may allow youngsters to develop useful skills and how to earn success. For example, experiencing competitive activities learn youngsters how to be resilient and perseverant. That is why teaching the sense of competition can be beneficial for youngers. On the other hand, overexposing to competition can lead to negative emotions and depression. When youngers over competing against and comparing themselves with persons, they become dependant on external sources of validation and in some cases it leads to hostility and greed especially in case of failure, both of which are the enemies of progress. However, being cooperative help students to learn from each other without comparations and pressure to be the winner. For instance, many researchers demonstrated that encouraging cooperation in the classroom leads to greater, more lasting achievement among students. Thus, the best method of education is to teach teenagers to cooperate with people without competition. In conclusion, although that teaching child the sense of competition can help them to develop useful skills, I believe that it can lead to negative consequences in some cases and the best path for success in life is by learning to cooperate with other people.