In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study aboard. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In the last few years, it has become a really popular choice to go abroad after graduating high school to complete your studies and get a university degree, whereas it wasn’t really a possibility in the past or at least the majority of students preferred to study at a local educational institution. In my essay, I’m going to describe the benefits that an experience like this can have as well as the downsides. Firstly, being able to go study in another country could help people mature and be more independent, in order for them to be able to face all different kinds of problems without having to rely on others. Moreover, living in a different place means having the first -hand experience of a different culture and meeting people with traditions that are completely different from what we are used to and this would give people an incredible opportunity to grow and learn a lot from this adventure. However, there are also disadvantages. Living and studying abroad can indeed help you be more independent but, especially at the beginning, can be an extremely hard experience. Some students may have to face problems alone for the first time or might suffer from severe culture shock, leading them to see this incredible opportunity more like a disgrace. For example, I found it really hard to be alone in Ireland, as I couldn't speak English well at the time and I felt alone. To sum up, getting your university degree in a foreign educational institution can help you grow and be more independent, but the downsides of this adventure should not be ignored and should be taken into consideration when you’re making such an important decision.