Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

If people were to agree on the most fearful threat to human health, it would be likely disease. Health care plays a crucial role in individuals’ lives. I strongly believe that health conditions should be diagnosed by expert doctors for accurate diagnosis, while homemade remedies can contribute to serious problems. On the one hand, self-diagnosis can contribute to grave consequences as most people don’t possess the required knowledge and are not trained, which is one of the many reasons why alternative medicines are not reliable. Such treatments can not only cause severe side effects but also hinder natural progress, potentially leading to organ failure and death. However, there are few advantages to alternative medicines, it is far more economical as there is no need to buy costly medications, therefore, it is preferred by some individuals. On the other hand, in my perspective, it is more logical to follow a specialist’s health advice hence, they have acquired numerous studies on essential fields and use proper requirements to assess thoroughly the symptoms and diagnose a myriad of issues. Accordingly, prescribed medicines rely on evidence-based research; therefore, they are subjected to restricted regulatory standards. For instance, advancements in medical research have led to the development of effective treatments for conditions such as HIV/AIDS, turning what was once a fatal disease into a manageable chronic condition for many patients. In conclusion, alternative remedies cannot be trusted as they are associated with risks that can endanger human lives, whereas licensed health practitioners are better equipped to help us overcome various illnesses.