The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Violent contents on media have been seen an association with an increasing crime rate in society. To reduce the related criminality, some people advocate that governments should strive to minimise the violence showing on mass media. In my opinion, I totally agree with this statement and this essay will explain the rationale behind and why it is the government side should take the responsibilities. Research indicated that an excessive exposure to media violence has a detrimental effect on viewers leading to their aggressive behaviours in society. Some films containing violence convey a shared message that it will not be punished if people utilise violence to solve problems. This may result in people imitate those offensive behaviours in their real life. In particular, those people who have issues on emotion regulation, anti-social personality or impulse control are more likely to being affected after watching violent materials. Being occupied by those negative emotions, they may become agitated or angry easily when they have arguments with others. They may end up fighting people and being involved in legal issues. In a word, restrictions on violent products may reduce the trigger of people ’s aggressive mindset. Having sufficient resources, authorities are capable of halting the spread of violent products on media more thoroughly. First of all, governments can exercise power to restrict the production of violent products from legislation, putting pressure on production companies. If media platforms understand that inappropriately disseminating violence to audience may cause legal penalties, they will be more cautious when classify those materials. For example, they may limit teenagers from accessing violent games so potentially it may reduce crime occurring among this cohort. Secondly, top-down regulations from authorities can be state-wide. Instead of efforts from individual media in one area, government can allocate more finance and human resource to ensure the banning of violent contents can be enforced in all regions, from well-known media companies in major cities to less-known counterparts in rural areas. To sum up, the reduction of violent products may lead to lower crime rate in society, and this can be achieved by local governments in a more effective way.