Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

Sports events such as the FIFA World cup have become some of the most anticipated events worldwide. It is often stated that these international athletic games are a great and risk-free way for expressing nationalistic pride and bringing nations closer to each other. I generally agree with this opinion on the grounds that without such occasions there could be an absence of intercultural interactions among countries. Firstly, major international sports tournaments such as the FIFA World Cup are helpful in reducing estrangements among nations. Citizens of different countries find the chance to interact with the fans of the opposing teams. Even when countries in a heat of political conflict face each other in a sports game, a familiarization process takes place among the fans. A notable example would be the football match between Iran and the United States in the 1998 FIFA World Cup in France. Friendships on the pitch delighted the fans with hope of a better relationship between the two states and helped in reducing the hostile allegations made by political leaders. On the other hand, it is believed by others that such grand sports events are essentially run for the commercial benefits. Large corporations are usually the sponsors of these extremely expensive tournaments. Therefore, there is growing criticism on the way these events are organized. For instance, the upcoming FIFA World cup to be held in Qatar in 2022 has caused the lives of a few hundred construction workers who are working in unbearable conditions. Provided the organizers are concerned with the humanitarian aspects of a sports event, they will not put the lives of many in danger. To summarize, international sports events ignite some patriotic fervor that is considered safe by some observers, while others criticize the commercial interests of the organizers. In my opinion, I agree with the former view and believe that these occasions still hold valuable humanitarian attributes.