In spite of the advancements made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Despite the developments in the field of agriculture, hunger still remains as one of the major issues in the world. I believe this is caused by an overwhelming amount of food wastage that happens mostly in wealthier countries, and in order to solve this problem, governments should implement plans to reform dining culture. The main cause of hunger in the world today is not a lack of food production, but rather the habit of wasting perfectly eatable meals every now and then. In fact, there is more than sufficient amount of nutrition produced than it is necessary to feed the entire population of the earth with a reasonable diet. Unfortunately, many people go hungry because a significant amount of food go to waste. And this takes place more in the wealthier countries, while many in less economically rich nations suffer from malnourishment and even face death because of lack of calories consumed. To solve this issue, in my opinion, there needs to be regulations that aim at reinforcing populations to preserve and value their food better. Apart from the moral aspect of food wastage, it actually imposes a huge cost on administrative bodies. Provided that citizens reduce food wastage, a profound amount of funds will be returned. Therefore, governments of wealthier countries could introduce humanitarian relief packages to those facing hunger in less developed countries. In conclusion, with the vast amount of advancements in modern agriculture, a considerable number of people have difficulties consuming a rich diet around the world, whereas there is a good proportion of food being wasted by more well-off nations. I think, to fix this problem, this unbalance needs to be addressed and new rules and regulations ought to be put in place to reduce wastage of food.