In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is true that people in developed nations tend to live longer than ever before. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative influences of this trend, governments can take steps to mitigate these potential problems With regards to individuals, one of the main issues is likely to be living expenses for the aged. This is because most elderly people often depend on their pensions or savings in order to cover the cost of living, and they may run out of money at a given time. Consequently, these people might live on financial support from their families, or even more adversely, becoming homeless. Many elderly people in Japan, for example, are struggling to live out because their savings are not enough to pay their bills. To combat the problem, individuals should learn to invest their salaries safely or start saving at a young age. As a result, this measure may help them have a more generous budget in the retirement age. As for societies, the most pressing problem that comes with higher life expectancy is the greater amount of pension. The reason for this is that there are more people in retirement age who receive a pension, while the proportion of working adults who pay taxes decreases. Thus, these taxpayers have to allocate more salaries to pension funding, or governments need to raise taxes to compensate for the lack of the funding. To tackle the problem, authorities should increase the average age of retirement, up to 70, the age at which old people may be healthy enough to work and make a living. In other words,they can contribute more taxes to communities and relieve the financial burden on young people. In conclusion, two main concerns for individuals and societies which a longer lifespan may create are financial troubles and retirement benefits. However, these issues can be alleviated if citizens prepare a detailed financial plan and governments raise the retirement age.