Young people are leaving their homes from rural areas to study or work in cities. What do you think are the reasons? Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

It is common these days for young people in many countries to move from the countryside to the city. The main reason is possibly the gap between urban and rural areas. The economy grows faster in large cities and most high-quality schools and universities are located there. Moving to large cities means young people have more opportunities to enjoy better educational resources and find well-paid jobs. For instance, in China, a young worker in an electronics factory earns much more than a farmer in the farmland. The large number of young people moving to cities increases the supply of the labour force and helps to boost the economy in cities. For example, in many coastal cities of China, the boom of the manufacturing industry has benefited largely from the inexpensive human resources and most of these workers come from the countryside. For those young people, this migration is also beneficial for their personal development. However, this trend may result in a series of problems. To begin with, some young people have difficulty in adapting to the new environment in cities. Also, many of these young people are separated from their old parents, who are usually left in their hometowns. It is difficult for young people to take care of their parents. In addition, the rapid increase of the population would cause high pressure on basic facilities and lower the quality of life. The best examples of this are traffic congestion and the high price of housing in many large cities. Overall, moving from the countryside to the city means more opportunities for young people. They can make a contribution to the development of the city, but this migration also leads to some social problems.