A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Wealth and possesion is the new norm in gauging peoples values ancient ways and culture have been forgotten.social status has replaced good morals that were very much respected in the olden days. I totally agree with the statement and will discuss in this essay and give my opinion. Good morals have been forgotten and the bigger the wallet the better money and possesions will take you places you never expected but again money has turned people into proud and arrogant individuals that can do anything to an extent of killing a fellow human being, thus this has brought in corruption. It is very easy for people to get their way simply because they own the assets. For instance a number of incidences especially injustice cases have been reported in our country but because the person in question is not in a position to bribe the authority the one who carried out the injustice is most of the time left to go scott free. However better morals that should be emphasised in our generation are not getting the exposure they require,remember our parents and the old generation emphasised so much on better behaviour which brought up a well groomed society that could be trusted,are kind and could respect each other, for example our parents tell us that if a child misbehaved back then in school or anywhere he or she could be punished by any individual as long he is a grown up,and escorted home once that child gets home accompanied by the adult discpline is instilled by the parent but that is not happening today and this is the reason why the society is rotten,young people dont respect the old at all. In conclusion,in my own view wealth and possesion is good but it should be earned in the right way considering good behaviour and upright upbringing old age practices should be encouraged in todays society and if possible make a come back.