Nowadays, many people send their children to boarding schools so that they can have time to work. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

One of the parental practices that has become more common in recent years is sending descendants to boarding schools. The main reason for this is allocating more time to work with the absence of children at home. There are number of benefits as well as drawbacks to be considered, although as far as I am concerned, boarding schools do more harm in general. On the one hand, boarding schools have shown to have positive impacts on the lives of both parents and children alike. Firstly, not having to take care of kids at home will allow parents to focus on their professional life better; hence, they can earn more income which benefits the entire family. Secondly, at boarding schools pupils are taught to descipline their lifestyle. Unlike regular schools where most of the focus is on the students' academic learning, at boarding schools much wider range of skills are learnt. Thirdly, young people have the chance to deal with more difficult challenges in life by staying away from the comfort of family and hometown which will teach them vital life lessons before their adolescence. On the other hand, there are undeniable personal and parental issues that could arise from sending children to study away from home. First of all, kids, especially below twelve years old, need sufficient attention and intimacy; something that is hard to find in any boarding school. No matter how skillful and amiable the school teachers and staff are, they can never replace the role parents play in raising children. Besides, all the stress and difficulties students have to face at boarding schools may result in trauma in their adulthood. Lastly, many children do not comprehend the reason behind being sent off to another city to study, and only seeing their family for short holidays. Accordingly, such misunderstandings might affect the relationship between parents and children. To summarize, many parents nowadays are deciding to enroll their children in boarding schools in order to have more free time to spend on their careers. In my opinion, while both parents and descendants gain certain advantages from this decision, the negative implications it could have on the mental health of the children as well as family unity are far greated than the benefits.