Some businesses now say that no-one can smoke cigarettes in any of their offices. Some governments have banned smoking in all public places. Do you agree or disagree with this?

In recent years, the question of whether smoking should be banned in workplaces and public areas has been widely debated. Whilst some argue that such a measure can infringe on personal liberty, others believe that governments and corporations should act together to prohibit smoking in shared places. I agree with the latter viewpoint and will present my reasons. To begin with, a primary reason for adopting smoke -free policies is to protect public health. If smokers are allowed to smoke in public places, including offices, parks, and malls, individuals in the vicinity can be exposed to secondhand smoke from nearby nicotine users, increasing the risk of smoking-related diseases, such as lung cancer, asthma, and cardiovascular disease. For example, a 2023 study in the United States showed that around 1.2 million people die annually because of secondhand smoke. Therefore, authorities must enforce outright bans to avoid a deterioration in community health. Furthermore, since smoking slows economic growth in various ways, restrictions on tobacco smoking are justified. Smokers take frequent breaks at work to smoke, reducing productivity and overall well-being. For instance, statistics from Riyadh in 2010 reported that 34% of hospital admissions were due to tobacco-related illnesses, indicating not only a significant financial loss for insurance companies but also an enormous burden on public hospitals. Consequently, smoke -free policies can be implemented to minimise healthcare expenses and improve employee well-being. To conclude, although smoking is a personal choice, I am convinced that governments and companies should forbid smoking in public areas. Protecting the public health and saving money while improving productivity can only be achieved through an absolute restriction on smoking.