Psychological illnesses may not be as obvious as physical disabilities or illnesses. Nevertheless, they are just as disabling in their own way. Society, however, is more accepting of those with physical than psychological illnesses or disabilities, The latter being regarded as a taboo subject sometimes. To what extent do you agree with this view?

In the modern world, it is believed that people with psychological disorders are less likely to be accepted by others than those who have physical diseases. I strongly disagree with this statement and think that society is becoming more tolerant to mentally ill. Firstly, people have become more aware of the importance of mental health in their lives and therefore have become more open to those who have such a problem. When someone is mentally ill, he cannot effectively do some particular work duties, normally communicate with others, as well as cope with life’s issues. For instance, it is probably difficult for a person, who suffer from social phobia, to work in a team and defend his opinion on some topics. This phenomenon is quite common, so more attention is now paid to psychological health and its maintenance. The second reason people with mental health problems are accepted into society is that some of them have incredible talents. Children with autism or hyperactivity may be considered mentally ill primarily because they experience unusual behaviours. Nevertheless, many of them have shown their interests or talents in music, technology, painting or sports. A good illustration of this is the story of a young man who is blind and suffer from autism. However, despite his illness, he plays the piano and sings amazingly, which in turn helped him win the prestigious talent show in the United States and inspire millions of viewers. In conclusion, public awareness of mental health and the special abilities of people with mental retardation has increased. Thus, they became more sympathetic to these people and supported them in different ways.