The exploration and development of safe alternatives to fossil fuels should be the most important global priority today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, It is argued that the discovery and development of renewable energy is one of the top priorities for every nation around the globe. This essay strongly agrees with that suggestion because fossil fuels are non-renewable energy and reducing the consumption will be better for the environment. To begin with, fossil fuels are classified as non-renewable energy because they take millions of years to develop. This is to say that if the rate of consumption exceeds the rate of production, eventually its existence will face extinction. Consequently, if alternatives are not yet discovered and developed, it would be devastating for the population because most of today’s power source still depends on fossil fuels. Without any alternatives, industries will soon collapse and lead to the downfall of humanity. Not only are fossil fuels non-renewable, they are also not good for the environment. The combustion of fuels produces waste products, such as carbon dioxide that damage the atmosphere layers. If the atmosphere layers are damaged, UV rays from the sun would pass through easily which would cause a greenhouse effect that could warm the entire surface of the planet. The increased temperature will then change the climate which leads to global warming. Hence, it is essential for government officials all around the world to limit the usage of fossil fuels and explore safer alternatives. In conclusion, I agree that the exploration for safer and renewable energy alternatives should be the top priority for every nation because fossil fuels will eventually run out and excessive usage will lead to negative environmental impact.