Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The ability to make decisions can be considered as one of the vital signs of maturity. Because it proves that the individual's personality is developed enough to choose the right path in life, even though some people believe that today, young people are better decision-makers, due to lifestyle changes, I am afraid I have to disagree with this belief for two critical reasons. Firstly, in the past, people used to get married at very young ages. The youth was both mentally and physically prepared for early marriage. By marriage, there is no chance of staying dependent on family. For example, my grandmother was born in one of the countries of Tabriz. She has told many stories about young girls ' life getting married at age 16. She had explained that the girls were used to become housekeepers at very young ages and then gave birth before they were 18 years old. This rapid development of life for those young girls made the girls autonomous. My grandmother got married when she was 16, and she was pregnant by 19. She says that she had no choice but to only becoming dependent. This also happened for boys. The young boys quickly learned the way of being a husband and father for their family. Secondly, the families were extended. In every family, they were at least four children. So parents could barely pay attention to all the children. In other words, they were less concerned with their children's raising. They believed that older children could exemplify for their younger siblings. As an example, I am an only child. My parents entirely focused on me to teach me everything they could. They always were so worried about the environment I studied, worked, or even had fun. Although These concerns were beneficial for me and were considered a kind of protection, they reduced my ability to choose and decide in different situations of my own life. In sum, today young people rely on their parents more than past. Because usually the children are raised in nuclear families and also marriage age is increased to 30s. This means that young people remain under their parent's supervision for an extended period.