Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people think governments should construct more railways than roads even if it costs more than building new highway pathways. Although the railway has some advantages, I would disagree with this statement. First of all, I would like to write about my opinions on travelling by train. For passengers, it is comfortable to travel and costs less to buy tickets. But, for the government it costs too much to construct and take time to finish this type of project, especially building in a vast and rocky place like Mongolia which is my birth country. In my country, cities are long-distance from each other, and the population is only three million. So, the track projects will take time to regain the construction budget. Also, following train timetables to travel is not flexible for customers who have urgent needs. On the other hand, driving our own car on the highway is suited to Mongolia's condition. Also, it wastes less money than the rail line and is possible to build in the summertime, only for 3 months. For example, two years ago, the Mongolian government had built a road to Khuvsgul Lake, which is one of the famous travel spots of Mongolia, so many folks went there with their families in their own cars. Also, driving our own car gives us the freedom to stop whenever we need or go wherever we want. This is the main reason to choose to drive on roads. In conclusion, the government's main duties and responsibilities are to create infrastructure to provide for people’s needs. To create that public sector should do research and spend less money as possible; hence,building roadways will continue unless people possess cars. The railway is used for some busy directions. Unfortunately, some folk should agree that not all places are busy like big cities.