The only way to improve safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree with this idea?

Imposing strict rules for preventing road accidents is an effective way, individuals will definitely think twice before driving without care. I firmly agree with this statement and this essay will explain it in detail. First and foremost, this method of tackling driving offences proved fruitful and could reduce the number of road accidents. To illustrate, Canada is a great example of this as they have quite extreme laws if anybody commits a crime if police catch individuals drunk and driving then they fine them huge amounts of money as well and the person has a high chance of getting a licence suspension or demerit points. Consequently, everybody drives carefully and is afraid of driving after being drunk. Moreover, punishing people who break traffic rules is also important to maintain laws and regulations. Because those individuals arrested for breaking traffic ordinances could directly harm other innocent drivers. So many reports have been observed in the past where this kind of incident happened. Eventually, this is a positive thing and can contribute to the decline in accident count. Furthermore, advanced technologies help to make this project successful as officers can use high-speed cameras to control stunt drivers. Besides this, red light cameras are also great for keeping an eye on people who try to cross it. Even one survey showed that 70% of cases are the reason for careless driving. To conclude, driving offences are increasing day by day so, to control this number taking harsh actions and fostering strict laws are successful methods to apply.