Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

With the increasing level of pollution, many methods has been launched to protect the environment. However, some claim that it is not enough when it just stops at encouraging and it should be more reasonable to enact a law that mandates citizens to do recycling. The following essay takes a look at both sides of the argument. On the one hand, this will take a wide range of benefits. First of all, make it compulsory to ensure that people are willing to do it, because some people don’t care about environmental issues. There will be punishments for people who fail to adhere to this law, from low to high monetary fines. As the result, contamination problems can be tackled by making people more self-conscious about the environment. This is more vital especially at present, pollution is considered a global warning. On the other hand, I believe that not just residents need to do this, but the government should also contribute to solving this problem. Some great examples such as developing sciences to reduce the rate of pollution or apply environmental courses to education. These can build next -generation more self-consciousness without enacting laws. It would be more effective rather than facing at present. Moreover, it is inevitable that perhaps there will be unofficial protests by people who don’t agree with this law. Therefore, instead of punishing, some rewards should propose toward people who adhere to the rules correctly. In conclusion, perhaps we do need to make recycling a legal requirement, but this would certainly not be the only way to encourage people to dispose of their waste more responsibly.