Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others. However, argue that circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account. Discuss both side and give your opinion.

There appears to be a lack of consensus on the type of punishment for criminals committing the same offence. While some people argue that all offenders should be imposed the same punishments without caring about their motivations and situations, others, myself included, believe they should be considered in punishing them. In the following essay, I will explain both views in more detail. It could be argued that imposing fixed punishments for the same illegal action may encourage criminals to continue to break the law. The consideration of other factors like their motivation and situation can be an excuse for suspects to escape their punishments. As a consequence, the rate of committed crimes would be on the rise. Also, the judges may judge unfairly based on their impressions of their defences. However, I agree with those who believe it’s unfair to make guilty individuals suffer with the same extent of punishment. They say that all the crimes are not the same and the reason behind each case can be very different. For example, a murderer with homicidal tendencies and a killer who kills the victim accidentally are completely different. Also, other factors like their background, financial situation, family problems, and so on are the causes of turning to crime. For instance, in some undeveloped countries, due to the troubled economic situation, some low-income people who cannot afford their basic needs shoplift or pickpocket to accommodate their needs. To conclude, although in some circumstances, it’s likely that judges cannot convict offenders fairly based on how they understand their defences, the backgrounds that drive someone to act against regulations should be considered to have better fairness.