Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In few countries the existence and growth of supermarkets are posing a competition for several small, local enterprises. Some people consider that the loss of local businesses can bring severe impacts on local communities. In my opinion, I agree that the closure of local businesses can affect the livelihoods of local communities. However, I believe that supermarkets can support small businesses. Small and medium enterprises can lose their businesses when competing with supermarkets because they are unable to cater to all different needs and wants of a consumer. They can only sell their unique products that they offer. Whereas, when a customer visits a supermarket, he has the opportunity to shop various products and this saves his or her time in travel and effort taken for shopping. Large supermarkets usually have various outlets throughout the country which means that they have expertise and resources in improving sales and marketing of their products. Regardless, supermarkets can lend a helping hand to local business owners by allowing them to sell and market their products in a supermarket in addition to operating their own local stores. Since mass crowds visit supermarkets, this provides wider exposure and customer engagement on locally produced products and /or serviced Change the form of the verb service show examples provided which can improve the sales and marketing of their respective local businesses. In conclusion, supermarkets can pose a threat to local businesses because of their capability to develop quickly and easy shopping. However, both supermarkets and local businesses can work together to improve each other’s prospects by providing the convenience of shopping and also supporting local communities.