With a growing world population one of the pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With alarming population growth, food shortage has become an area of contention in many countries. One of the remedial measures, in some people's opinion, is genetically modified food. In my view, this can be a good solution to have enough food for everyone, as GM crops can be more resistant to pests and diseases. However, the government should strictly control genetic modifications to avoid negative effects on human's health. By changing the DNA of plants, scientists can make them more resilient to weather conditions and resistant to pests. Nowadays, the main reason for food shortage in developing and underdeveloped countries is the inefficient use of farmlands and the non-resistance of plants to some insects. Scientifically modified crops cannot be harmed by insects because they have an immune against them. For example, eggplant is an important crop in Bangladesh. But often whole harvests are destroyed by pests. Farmers had to rely heavily on pesticides, only the introduction of GM seeds stopped this in 2013. Adding further, genetic modification can make vegetables bigger and more abundant, hence, agricultural land can be used efficiently. To illustrate, people need two, or three times more agricultural lands to harvest non-DNA crops, in turn, more lands require more water and pesticides. Subsequently, using fewer pesticides and water can positively affect the environment in the long term. Nonetheless, I am convinced that the government should protect consumers from harmful consequences on people by strictly regulating this process. To conclude, GM food is beneficial for human beings on many levels. Apart from addressing the problem of hunger, it can help to keep the environment sustainable. With the technology that we have now, our imagination is the only limit.