Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Advertisement has always been a crucial role in the world of marketing. The way they try to convey a message tends to change throughout the decade whether via television or through online platforms. The goal of advertising is to get consumers to buy a targeted product. This method has been proven successful in general while some people think this scheme can not catch the consumer’s attention anymore. Advertising could be a powerful tool inviting the majority of consumers into buying some curtain products. Because of the tactics placed in the message’s presentation. Some catchy slogans and recognisable jingles could be last for decades if their rhyme impressed people. Although this designed phrase might not be successful in a short period of time. It has to be heard repetitively until recognised by the audience. For instance, “Just Do It” Nike’s well-remembered line which appears on most of the commercial ad and purchased goods. Nonetheless, after watching thousands of advertisements people will see it as a daily routine and decreasing attention that is paid to them. In fact, some people may even choose to turn the television off just to avoid repetitive advertisements. The main goal of advertisements is not complete since the people whom the messages are sent out to do not receive those messages. In social media platform Youtube is the prime example. They attempt to place an ad before and between videos hoping viewers would be forced to watch it. However, this pattern could not be successful since people would just click the skip ad button and continue the video. In conclusion, advertisements can be successful at persuading customers to purchase goods and services or can be unsuccessful in many ways. Thus, advertising must be designed and presented in the correct way for high effectively result.