In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

A skyrocketing establishment of supermarkets and shopping centres is proven to lead local markets to the verge of bankruptcy. This essay will discuss how the giant shopping retails overpower the local shops and why I disapprove of this phenomenon. Firstly, department stores mostly have a massive marketing strategy, which can even cover a whole region either via televisions or billboards and this means local businesses stand no chance of competing with those giant trademarks. Take Walmart, for instance, its huge promotions urge people to spend their money there rather than going to obscure local markets, which significantly reduces their revenues and eventually bankrupts them. Consequently, this unfair competition is not beneficial for the economic sustainability of lower-middle business levels. Secondly, local shops are the pioneers of product innovations and the existence of major trademarks hinders them from thriving. For example, new product trends on social media usually start from grassroots entrepreneurs who try to promote their creations to the public, but as the audience grows larger, huge companies then steal their ideas and make a massive production of similar copies. Additionally, consumers will naturally pick the cheaper alternatives, hence why small businesses are neglected and once again overshadowed by large companies. If this issue continues, the creativity of local entrepreneurs will be abolished and severely reduced. In conclusion, the existence of shopping centres and supermarkets threaten the continuity of local business because of the overpowering marketing strategy and plagiarism. Finally, I side with the people who strongly support local businesses instead of large shopping centres