In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

There are different attitudes towards whether to buy or rent a house in different regions. It is true that in some countries the majority of people strongly rather be a landlord than a tenant due to some reasons. On the one hand, the most significant measure which may affect people’s decision on choosing between buying or renting a home is the inflation rate. In other words, citizens of these countries strive to purchase a property as fast as possible before it is too late because the prices are increasing and they would not afford to make a purchase if they delay it. For instance, in Iran, the inflation rate is much higher than salary growth so it will not be affordable to buy a house a year later which you can buy today. Moreover, usually in the countries mentioned above, the taxes of owning a building are not high enough to prevent people from considering the properties as a capital good. On the other hand, although there may be some positives associated with this subject, I find it a purely negative trend because it not only emphasizes the class differences but also causes lots of unoccupied houses while a huge number of citizens are in hardship to afford a suitable place to live. In addition, according to the past reason, the demand for renting places would increase in a long period of time which leads to a rise in renting prices, based on economic sciences. All in all, the demand for buying houses has a negative correlation with the economic functionality of a country and in my opinion, it seems to be a negative trend.