Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taugh to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a controversy whether children should be encouraged to develop their sense of competition or to be taught to operate together in order to become more useful as an adult in the future. This article discusses both views while it gives more priority to co-operation to solo competitiveness. Competing against others can be quite empowering. As an individual, a child could enhance their self-esteem and self-reliance as they beat their rivals. On the other hand, losing can also teach children to learn from their personal mistakes and subsequently develop their personal skills which are of crucial importance for their future. As a result, individual challenges would cause a youngster to become independent as they experience more. In comparison to personal achievements gained by children competing against each other, teamwork motivates these kids to view themselves in a bigger picture and together with other cooperating mates, they will be able to achieve greater goals. In other words, as juveniles work with each other, they would realise the power of teamwork and with it, many things would seem more achievable. Additionally, such group activities might also develop a sense of acceptance of other members of the team and hence embracing one's own weaknesses. In simple terms, accepting others shortcomings would result in treating self-made mistakes in a more compassionate manner. In conclusion, either view is necessary for developing personal and team skills, however, emphasizing on team activities of young people has greater importance in order to be more useful in the future.