In some areas of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

There is an ongoing debate regarding the curfew in some parts of the US which restricts the mobility of adolescents for outdoor activities after a certain time in the evening by having parents or guardians accompany them. Some commentators state that it is indispensable for the well-being of the youths which I wholeheartedly agree and will elucidate my reasons. Firstly, having a chaperone can refrain the teenagers from being a target of the criminals. To further explain, offenders are more mobile and active at night, hence, there is a high chance to encounter crimes, for instance, abduction, theft and assault. Secondly, purely due to adrenaline obtained from excitement or peer pressure, young people will be tempted to participate in criminal activities themselves such as vandalism, delinquency, and littering. For example, in New York Times 2017 it is reported that, high-school aged children are the highest demographic group who committed vandalism. Lastly, with the absence of adult supervision, they will be prompted to partake in activities that are harmful to them including drinking, smoking and drugs. Admittedly, it is also true that having the authority to roam around on their own have its perks as it can encourage the youths to be more independent as well as learn self defence since they need to look after their safety by themselves. Nonetheless, chances of the occurrence of foul events are astronomical. To conclude, I believe that for the safety and well-being of the youngsters, it is best if an adult looks after them in the wee hours as it can deter crimes, restrain them from participating in criminal offences as well as getting addicted to harmful substances. Although they can learn to be more independent and self-cautious, the dangers are more robust than the wins.