The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the 21st century, we are living in an obesogenic environment. Our daily intake of calories is not equal to what we burn through physical activities. An alarming increase of overweight people is putting a serious strain on public healthcare. A segment of society is convinced that more physical education lessons can effectively tackle this issue. I personally agree with this opinion, nevertheless, I also believe that the government should introduce lessons on healthy nutrition in schools to guide adolescents towards healthier choices. To commence, providing extra physical training classes in schools can help pupils to burn the calories they have consumed and instil a habit of working out on a daily basis. As a result, children will have improved physical and mental health. In the long term, juveniles will benefit by reducing chances to, for example, develop heart diseases, diabetes and obesity. Moreover, in today's society, both parents work, therefore, they have no or little time to persuade their children to do exercises regularly. Thus, it is very important to introduce more physical education lessons in schools. However, in order to eliminate the issue of overweightness, children should learn the basics of healthy nutrition. Physical training lessons alone cannot help if adolescents keep consuming fizzy drinks and high-fat products. I believe that the juveniles should be aware of how the food they eat affects their health. For instance, they should understand that consumption of sugar, fast food, processed food and saturated fats can cause many diseases in the long term. To conclude, additional physical training lessons can be a good way to deal with obesity among the population. Nonetheless, children should also be taught proper nutritional diets in order to be healthy.