Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, children have a great tendency to spend as much time as possible on their phones, and they tend to play online games or chat with their friends on social media. I consider this habit pretty harmful and disadvantageous due to the reasons which will be discussed in this essay. Firstly, in terms of the reasons behind this trend, I should mention the fact that this new technology has been built in a way to be appealing and attractive for children. They have access to a wide range of information, pictures, applications and many other exciting features, and it is not surprising that they like to spend time and explore these sparkling aspects thoroughly. Secondly, kids do not experience outdoor activities the same as in the past. They are imprisoned in the apartments, and they don’t have much tangible communication with their peers. As a result, they tend to stay indoors and relate with their friends through cell phones. Moreover, in the last few years, the usage of the internet and mobile phones has increased dramatically, and it is due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Throughout that era, juveniles were deprived of real classrooms, and they were locked in their houses. As a result, they are unaccustomed to face-to-face relationships or physical exercise. To put it in a nutshell, this phenomenon stems from so many fundamental and basic causes which we need to identify and erase. As a whole, this is a negative development and lead to more isolated human beings in the near future.