Governments should spend less money on restoring old buildings and more money for new housing and roads development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the government budget for preserving aged properties should be less than building new houses and road constructions. While I believe that maintaining old architecture is a necessity according to their values, I completely agree that constructing new roads and houses needs more money. On the one hand, each nation needs to protect its history for the future. Knowing about the past is significant for every generation and old constructions have a history behind them. A big portion of our knowledge about the life of well-known artists such as Mozart and Bach are relied on investigating the mansions that they lived in. Moreover, the majority of old houses are highly-priced and if they are not maintained cautiously, their values would be lessened as time goes by. Also, the architect of old buildings gives us information about engineering knowledge of the past, their materials and the way of their thinking. From a scientific view, conserving this knowledge is a must. On the other hand, it is true that some aged buildings are valuable but not all of them are worthy from a historic, cultural or scientific point of view. A great number of houses are not modern nor aged enough to be seen as antique structures. These middle-aged constructions are not environmentally friendly, waste lots of energy and are not resistant to natural disasters such as earthquakes and hurricanes. They need to be destroyed and rebuilt as a state-of-the-art structure. Besides, constructing modern roads according to new technologies that fix transportation issues is one basic aspect of any developing country that needs an ample budget. In conclusion, however, preserving old buildings is an expensive and important process, I believe that constructing new buildings and roads needs more budget.