In many countries, international tourism has become an important source of income. However, it also has negative effects. Do the benefits of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Tourism has become a topic of interest over the last decade with many people choosing to travel a lot during their leisure time. This has created vast opportunities for countries that allow guests from other countries. Though there are few harmful effects from global tourism, my belief is that it can be neglected when we consider the boost that it provides to a country. Firstly, when there are visitors from developed rich countries, it will contribute towards uplifting the economy of the host country. For example, Sri Lanka experienced a boom in tourism with the civil war being ended in 2009 and the country's main source of income included tourism as well. Moreover, many other industries such as construction, telecommunication, etc. also developed in parallel with tourism. Furthermore, it provides a platform for a country to be globally recognized. This can improve relationships between countries around the globe. However, there are few areas that international tourism is damaging once it is allowed in a country. There can be harmful things such as drugs that could enter the country along with tourism. Such incidents could damage the internal peace inside the country. Another problem is that people tend to fully depend on tourism instead of developing their skills. As a result, in a pandemic situation such as in present, they will face an economical crisis. Hence, it is important to educate people in the tourism sector about having a backup plan. In conclusion, there are both benefits and downfalls of global tourism inside a country. Nevertheless, we should look forward to positives and mitigate negative effects with proper education.