Quite a few youngsters nowadays take cohabitation for granted, while others find it unacceptable. In about 350 words, state your choice and explain why.

These days, a number of young adults advocate cohabitation and consider this as common; others, however, raise objections to it. From my perspective, I am supportive of the latter, in that I believe this phenomenon has several drawbacks far outweighing its seeming advantages. In the first place, there exist many demerits of living together without any legal confirmation. In other words, cohabitation engenders a sense of uncertainty as well as insecurity within couples, not to mention the increased likelihood of separation, as there is no legitimate bond between them. For example, it could regularly be seen that declines in marriage and increases in nonmarital births have given rise to solo parenting. This is particularly alarming as it puts illegitimate babies at a disadvantage, seriously affecting their growth and happiness. What is more, it is undeniable that in several cultures, de factos are likely to meet with moral disapproval and condemnation. That is, unsupportive relatives and friends would regard this as the lack of responsibilities and commitment in a relationship. For instance, while some Western cultures deprecate this practice, other Eastern cultures approve of the phenomenon. Hence, this somewhat corresponds with a lower divorce rate in the former and a higher one in the latter, though cohabitation is not solely to blame for. All things considered, cohabiting under no legal protections is not so much as beneficial as problematic. Therefore, I voice approval of the latter, believing that young couples should give it more serious thoughts before making up their mind.