In many societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare. A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A rapid increase in the elder population has become one of the growing concerns in recent times. I believe that both the governments and individuals should be responsible for it. Although, there is a quote that “Healthcare should be free”, it’s hard for the authority to look after all the elderly population. For example; in my, country, the government allocates 40% of tax money to health care and 80% of money are reserved to treat old age people which is quite inappropriate. Despite we pay a large amount of levy to the nation, it's the responsibility of the power to allocate all the money in various sectors as well. I cannot deny the fact that there are a plethora of senior citizens who is homeless and fighting daily to survive. Those communities can’t afford to pay the high amount of bills to the hospital. Such human beings should be prioritized. There are some ways to control this kind of situation. One of the notable measures is, authorities can increase the rate consequently they can get more funds. Similarly, families should be encouraged to go to the private hospitals those which are capable of as a result there will be less burdensome to public healthcare. Furthermore, the government can reduce the duty on medicines and medical equipment. It will be less pressure for numerous families. To conclude, the ageing population has increased the pressure for healthcare provision. Necessary steps need to be followed in order to avoid problems in our upcoming future either by collecting more funds through taxation or alternative ways should be implemented. Otherwise, the health standard of a person may degrade.