Modern lifestyles are completely different from the way people lived in the past. Some people think that changes have been very positive, while others believe they have been negative. Discuss both these points of view and give your own opinion.

Life in the 21st century is completely different from in the past. However, many people like to think the changes have been a net positive, while others hold an opposite opinion. This essay aims to discuss both perspectives and provide my own personal thoughts. It is an undeniable fact that changes and advancements have pushed the human race into a new sphere. Furthermore, we have even made considerable progress in philosophy and ethics as well. In the last century, a majority of the world lived below the poverty line. The end of both World Wars, the great depression, and the end of colonisation left many countries in ruin and were the primary causes of human suffering. Now, the advancements in medical science, technology, and labour practices have improved people's lives in numerous ways. The average lifespan has increased, and people are able to live more comfortably now since access to food and necessities has been made convenient. Vaccines and their fast development curbed the COVID-19 pandemic. Access to the internet has made information easily and readily accessible. Conversely, these advancements have also negatively impacted a lot of countries and their citizens. The period of globalisation and opening of borders and trade has led a lot of nations to prosperity, but some of them got the short end of the stick. Countries in Africa and South America have been left behind in the new global economic system. Climate change is a big conversation, and it is affecting people's daily lives with pollution making certain cities and places unlivable. The advancement in technology has created a new arms race which threatens to destroy global peace and harmony. For example, the war between Russia and Ukraine, the Israeli occupation of Gaza in Palestine are pressing concerns and experts believe escalation in any of these wars may lead to nuclear warfare. In conclusion, after discussing both points of view, I believe that even though many of the changes have had terrible consequences, it shouldn't be ignored that these advancements have made the world a better place to live in.