Social media has replaced the traditional methods of communicating and people use more and more of social media to communicate and to follow news and events. Some people think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your opinion with example.

Over the last several decades, social media has altered into an essential method of communication for modern people. A segment of society is convinced that this trend benefits individuals because they can keep in touch with their old friends, make new ones and be aware of the latest news. Others, however, believe that it detrimentally affects people leading to mental health issues. I personally support the latter view. The following paragraphs will discuss the pros and cons of social media and highlight my opinion in detail. To commence, social media platforms like Facebook, Instagram and Twitter facilitate easy communication for individuals and business development for companies. They make it possible to post the latest life events and share them with friends. Moreover, individuals can read the latest news and stay updated. Businesses benefit by finding potential consumers to boost their sales. For example, online shops can create targeted ads and attract new customers. On the negative side, these websites make people unsocial and unable to focus. People using social sites would rather prefer to connect online than to connect with a human being. This leads to issues like isolation, depression and low self-esteem. For instance, adolescents spend hours on these platforms checking the latest updates of their friends instead of spending quality time with them in person. Additionally, Facebook and Instagram significantly hamper productivity because social media tools are designed to be addictive, they grab the attention of children and adults. As a result, they lose their ability to focus. To conclude, in our contemporary society, it is necessary to disconnect from the internet to connect with human beings. I believe that social media is a negative development.