In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

In some states, despite the decline in severe offences, people are feeling unsafe than ever before. The main causes of this problem are lack of security and crime news coverage from media, where the viable solution is government to enforce proper security measures and regulating the media to stop the over-coverage of crime-related news. The main cause of fear among people associate with crimes is the lack of safety measures in the country. Despite the decrease in serious offences in some states, fear among people for their safety is more than before. This is because, unfortunately, some countries have failed to give assurance to their people for their safety which resulted in rooting anxiety in the masses. Furthermore, another major factor of this problem is media over portraying the crime-related news. News channels broadcasting the news related to serious offences overly for their high rating is impacting people directly which results in anxiety. To reduce these causes the relevant solution will be installing security cameras in public places like shopping malls, streets by the authorities to spot any unlawful act instantly. For instance, in the UAE, for the security purpose of its citizen, all public places have got surveillance cameras monitored by police to keep an eye on the offensive acts. Secondly, the government should impose a law on the news media, not to showcase the same criminal activity again and again. For example, if the news channels emphasize more on positive news, then people will have a positive mind. In conclusion, to make people feel safe and secure, the county and the media should take necessary actions to ensure them fear-free and secure life.