The world should have only one government rather than a national government for each country. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The question of whether we should have a single governing body for the world has become progressively contentious as some argue every nation ought to have its own individual government. In my opinion, while a universal government could bring in utopian benefits, this reform might not be feasible. The most frequently cited rationale for this approach to be viable is its effectiveness at large. This argument rests on the fact that the world we are living in will benefit hugely in solving global matters such as climate heating and widespread diseases. This can be most apparently seen in myriad problems arising from the burning of fossil fuels and the Covid-19 pandemic, which can be addressed cohesively by a centralised government. Not only remedying those from the worsening environment and the current health crisis, but also education will be standardised across the board, providing equal educational opportunities for children in jeopardy. The accumulated evidence has reasoned why a single government body can achieve tremendous ends for humanity. Albeit conceding the merits presented of a universal government, I would still contend that this proposal is rather theoretical. This is predicated based on the assumption that each country has, to varying degrees, its own values and regulates laws based on the nature within the country. One of the salient illustrations of this is often observed in numerous countries in Western Europe, which incline towards a socialist system to ensure a minimum standard of living for the citizenry, whereas, other places lean towards individual empowerment. In this sense, variety in government justifies the demand for separate autonomy over their own country. Therefore, implementing a single government for the current world does not confer a valid standpoint as every nation owns a distinctly unique background and requires disparate approaches according to the situation. In conclusion, the values mentioned from this notion cannot outweigh its unrealistic application as a centralised government for the entire planet cannot meet the individual needs of each nation. In my final thought, country leaders and politicians should jointly propose a more holistic approach in order to mitigate the severity of globally present issues.