Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s world, with the economic population improvement, the quantity of waste generated is also on the rise. However, there are some actions the government can take to support minimise this fact, such as education and fines application. First of all, people with better purchasing power tend to buy products on impulse, encouraged by marketing. For example, the internet advertising prompts and convinces a user to acquire the latest iPhone, even though her current device is one year old, and works fine. Every year we can see in the news the queue formed the day before the launch of the new iPhone in the Apple store. This occurs because these consumers are persuaded to constantly want the top version, throwing away the considered old phone. Nevertheless, the government can play an important role in investing in education and applying a garbage fine per kilogram exceded per person per house to decrease the consumption and consequently, the waste. To illustrate, a strong campaign could be created to inform about the impact related to waste, with some rewards. In addition, it could be determined a maximum weight of rubbish produced, being checked on the removal service, which would have a scale on the vehicle. These acts would develop people’s consciousness and responsibility with our own rubbish. In conclusion, despite the increase in waste due to indiscriminate consumption, the government can take some steps in order to revert this situation, which includes public information and punishment in form of fines. Therefore, we will get the result we want either way, whether by population conscience or by force.