In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantage of young people who decide to do this.

Taking a year gap before high school is a common practice as well as a most advised suggestion to young people in many countries. Many people consider it a good practice whereas several do not believe in that. Let us see both advantages and disadvantages related to this topic. Firstly, the reason why young people take a year off to work before college is to get some experience in the stream they want to have a future with. When they spend a considerable amount of time seeing skilled people or working with them on common grounds, will help them to actually analyse and decide if it is their cup of tea. Although vacation or travel kills their time, it will help them to think with peace of mind and know them better on a deeper level. When I worked for a year in a software firm as an intern before my masters in computer science, I have learned several job aspects and got an opportunity to see and plan for my future in a much better shape. On other hand, many people think spending a year on travel or doing low-quality jobs with less pay would waste quality and productive time for young people. Either they might fall prey to some bad paths which can completely destroy their careers or get in contact with bad influences like drugs or violence, they might end up in jail. Even though going on a vacation or travelling for a year clears off the mind, there are many chances they might get hurt which can spoil their study plan. To conclude, even though many say there are a lot of negative effects of taking a break I consider it as a better practice to follow. It helps individuals to prepare themself and plan a better life.