Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on young children. DO you agree or disagree?

If technology is touted as a double-edged sword, then the computer is a perfect example of it. Some opine that daily usage of the computer by children is harmful to them, whereas others argue that usage of the computer on regular basis is beneficial for kids. Not only this essay will discuss both views but also it will answer why I support the regular usage of computers by children. Firstly, there are several demerits of daily usage of computers by young children. To start with, most of the time children are alone when they access computers. This leads to no control over the content being browsed by them. Which is really precarious in nature and can seriously divert them from their intended goals. For instance, some students start using Google to find answers to their homework, while some can even access pornography over the internet at a tender age. Additionally, over-exposure to the computer has the potential to damage the eyes of children too. This can really hamper the growth of the children. But, with the proper parental control and the right usage of the, technology these challenges can be mitigated. However, I feel that usage of the computer is essential in this competitive world and it has several advantages. The most important feature of the computer is the ease with which the information can be accessed. For example, a student sitting in a tiny village in India can learn from the teachers of Oxford University. Additionally, the computer can also be used as a recreational tool. Whether kids want to play games or they want to learn in innovative ways; the computer is redefining methods of pedagogy in modern society. Hence, there are several ways to extract fruits from computers. To conclude, the computer can affect children physically as well as mentally, but it makes their life easier and I believe with the proper support from parents and teachers young children can really use it effectively. Thus, though the computer is considered dicey, it is a magic bullet.