In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantage of young people who decide to do this.

In certain countries, in the middle of high school and at the beginning of college, teenagers are advised to either work or travel. This essay will state the benefits and drawbacks of working or travelling by students after secondary school and before initiating their college. By either working or travelling prior to college help students understand their future goal but on the, contrary most of the companies do not hand over the project to them rather keep them under shadow which does not give in-depth knowledge of any assignment. One commonly cited advantage of having industrial experience post-high school is that youngsters get to have a glimpse of the working of a company. Furthermore, they can logically decide their future goal based on their practical knowledge which can be achieved in any organisation rather than the theoretical knowledge obtained from the school. For example, an undergraduate might wants to become an engineer but is unable to cope up with the competitive environment of the organisation might rethink his decisions prior to selecting any major in his college and this is possible only after he has experienced working in any firm. Moreover, by travelling to different places and by being away from their families, young people get to shoulder their responsibilities which helps them to inculcate many worldly traits which are required in long run. Despite this, there are multiple cons to working after high school. One of them is that companies do not hand over the working projects to the teenagers and keep them under the shadow of someone and hence freshers do not get a chance to work with the clients and a relevant experience cannot be gained. In conclusion, as a coin has two sides similarly there are both merits and demerits and of being employed succeeding high school.