People spend too much money on family celebrations such as birthdays and weddings. What is the importance of these celebrations? Do you think people really spend too much?

Each year most families spend some time bringing themselves together in form of either casual gatherings like a simple barbecue or traditional celebrations like Thanksgiving. Although there are many perks that come with these events such as strengthening relationships, to some extent, I agree with the question and believe that people sometimes go far in spending money on these matters. First, we have to understand the benefits of these gatherings. For children in their adolescence, it is extremely important to get in social while safe environments in order to learn and develop basic soft skills which would be needed in their later life as an adult. On the other hand, as recent advancements in technology have drifted us apart, it is crucial to get involved in activities that bring our family members closer together or otherwise the distance would cause miscommunications and more distance. Therefore for both age groups, it is necessary to spend some time together to build stronger relationships. However, sometimes people tend to overinvest in these cases. As we have discussed, the main reason for these celebrations are to achieve intimacy and an excessive organization of these events would not necessarily favour the outcome. Unfortunately, we see examples of which every day especially, amongst wealthy families. For instance, as mentioned on BBC, in 2020 a young couple in Dubai spent approximately over 100,000 dollars just to display "It's a boy" on Burj Khalifa at their gender reveal party. One can argue that this money could have been put into a far better good use either in their personal life or on others via charity. To summarize, It is of the utmost importance to spend enough time with your loved ones since it is beneficial to yourself, your children and other family members. However, you should always be prudent in order not to get carried away by spending too much money.