Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Issues related to government money are frequently discussed these days. It is argued that due to the limited national budget, railways invested by governments should be constructed better than roads. I totally agree with this assertion and the explanation will be discussed. The principal reason to consider is that expanding lines is a powerful tool for addressing the overpopulation problem in urban areas. To explain, most people have to stay in the cities because of the lack of transports and nearby their workplaces. Hence, citizens can easily access their home town as a result of the development of railways. Besides, the construction of railways can greatly result in the local economy. For instance, since the track need railways stations as well as employees in each station, so people do not leave their villages in order to seek jobs in the big cities. Another point is that mass transportations, such as train, generally need rail line, thus supporting these transports have a positive impact on the environment. Thanks to the capacity, public transports can contain a huge number of humans while they are transporting. This means that if people opt to travel by mass transportations instead of using private cars. Toxic gas emitted by burning fuels will be decreased and also the quality of air will be better than today. To exemplify, in the UK, the government has invested in terms of the development of public transportations over the recent years in order to encourage their citizens to use public transports such as sky train. Since the government attempt to take the UK becomes a low-carbon nation in 2050. All things considered, I am of the opinion that the investment in railways has a great benefit in the country. Therefore, individuals in each nation should share feedback to their governments that should carefully realise what is the best suitable for their countries as well as the future generations.