Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace ( e.g. at home, when travelling etc). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

The way we work has been changing since computer technology has helped us to communicate efficiently when we need to work remotely. This essay will discuss how the pros of working outside the office outweigh the cons. There is no doubt about the convenience of working from home or another place with the internet because it is possible to create a flexible schedule and it is also the easiest way to combine personal and professional life. For example, workers could decide to enjoy a sunny Wednesday and work on a rainy Saturday. With this balance, people can be more productive and have more pleasure in their daily lives. Furthermore, planning the time makes people more relaxed and gives them a sense of peace and control of their time. Another huge benefit to working remotely is the traffic. Working from home, for instance, cuts the commute time and the number of cars on the road. The most common situation is people living in suburbs and working downtown where they spending at least one hour in this commuting. This time could be spared in other activities with family and friends. Therefore, the environment will have less pollution and individuals will have more personal time available. Despite these several advantages, there are some issues to consider. The first one is that boundaries between work time and family time might be blurred. There are no limits hours and overtime is quite common nowadays, with longer hours working without payment, also bosses could not see all the effort someone does working remotely. While it is true that, workers still have the option to negotiate a raise or find a new job that fits with their necessities. To conclude, information technology gives people the option to work anywhere, however it is essential to draw a line between professional and personal activities. Having said that, people have to manage their time with responsibility and it is undeniable the power of choice where and when work..