Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the conspicuous trends of today’s modern world is a colossal upsurge of government spending on arts whereas some individuals believe that these resources should be utilised for the betterment of the people.I personally agree with the former statement as extra income generated should be spent on either healthcare or education. To begin with,spending on arts is the most debatable and controversial topic by the developed nations.There is a deluge of arguments in favour of my stance. The most preponderant one is that artistic paintings don’t make the life of people living below the poverty line better. For instance, a survey conducted by the Indian Insitute of Technology,Ranchi,revealed that approximately 1 billion US dollars are spent on the various art exhibitions as if these financial resources are diverted towards lower sections of society in healthcare, so the chances of an infant or maternal mortality could be reduced by adequate health infrastructure. Secondly, developed nations should pay attention to building educational institutions in the developing countries, this would lead to uplifting the section of society that rely on meagre resources. For example, research by Oxford University demonstrates that excessive consumerism is promoted by capitalist nations if their resources are diverted in a proper way various educational facilities to developing nations could be provided. In a nutshell, in my opinion, both the public and private organisations should come forward for adequate implementation of their funds to poor nations to make the life of these people comfortable so that they can afford basic healthcare and better educational facilities for their children.