Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Whether nations should finance privileged amenities for professional sportsperson instead of investing in basic services for ordinary citizens remains a controversial topic towards the general public. Given its pragmatic impact on the country as a whole, this idea appears highly feasible. Rationally, funding specialized facilities for the national sports teams not only helped governments to increase their countries’ GDP but also open them to new potentials in international trading. Indeed, winning high prizes at sport events like the Olympics or World Cup improves countries’ image, which is believed to increase their opportunities in developing the economy. For instance, having popular national branding may attract a greater amount of annual tourists and foreign companies, creating new jobs for citizens, therefore increasing the living standards. Also, by strengthening their reputation worldwide, countries could have a higher chance to receive international financial aid as well as being part of different trade organizations. Accordingly, governments could earn more money. Secondly, giving a priority of infrastructure to the elite athletes yields impressive results in increasing national savings. In other words, investing in specialized sports centers for national sportsperson could help governments to save money in other fields. Given the good result gained from international sports competitions, countries believed to increase patriotism among generations and encouraging them to exercise more. Accordingly, citizens can tackle the risk of diseases infection such as influenza and tuberculosis, which can help governments to save money on medical public services. This money could be used for other purposes to improve people’s life, therefore strengthening the country as a whole In conclusion, spending state budget to enhance special facilities to achieve global success is necessary considering its impressive effect on nations.