Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There has been a growing debate that one of the critical environmental setbacks in this century is the extinction of novel vegetation and animal species. Others assume that there are other natural problems that are more serious and should be considered. In my perspective, I tend to agree with the latter notion and I shall put forth some ideas to demonstrate my points with lucid examples in the following paragraph. On the one hand, it is pertinent that the loss of some specific plants or animals on Earth may cause outrageous consequences and affect other species. Some plants or animals are the main food source and play a pivotal role in the survival of other related types. Hence, the extinction of a specific species may cause a deleterious outcome and interrupt the natural food chain system. Moreover, this issue also leads to the decline of natural diversity as some scarce animals now can only be viewed from reference books or old videos. Consequently, this may cause shortcomings in future education as our descendants may not have vivid sources of demonstration. On the other hand, there are numerous austere natural problems that need to be mentioned and tackled strategically. To begin with, climate change and global warming are typical issues that go viral throughout the Internet and other means of media. Global warming has lead to the increase in temperature of many icy territories around the world like North America or the Arctic, which jeopardise the natural habitat of local animals. Moreover, carbon dioxide gas emissions from various industries have contributed to this issue and caused numerous anomalies in weather in many countries. For instance, the air pollution in China has been a stark warning to the global leaders about the danger of climate change. Additionally, this is driven by the rise of natural disasters such as floods, droughts and hurricanes which affects negatively agricultural yield and productivity. In conclusion, the loss of some rare animals or plants may result from environmental problems, however, there are other serious matters that should be taken into consideration.