The exploration and development of safe alternatives to fossil fuel should be the most important global priority today. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

As recently the population around the world have increased significantly, the usage of nonrenewable sources of energy has tremendously increased during the past years which has caused many issues such as global warming. As a result, many suggest that governments should prioritize the development of the exploitation of alternative resources. Due to the fact that crude oil was found in many countries by a large amount, it became accessible and affordable at the same time. Therefore, for many years we have consumed fossil fuel for various purposes, for example, generating electricity for our cities, running our cars and even for our daily cookings. In the beginning, it wasn' t alarming however, as the population has increased, a rise in demand for petroleum has arisen. Thus appeared the first problem, its unrenewability characteristic. In another word, this source would not replenish as we use it and consequently, we will eventually dry out our oil wells which would definitely lead to an energy crisis afterwards. In addition, our current excessive usage of oil has caused a conundrum called global warming which was the direct effect of releasing greenhouse gases into the atmosphere in the process of ignition of this fuel. Hence its benefits have been questioned by many environmental activists these days. As opposed to petroleum, renewable sources for instance geothermal, wind and solar energies, are not only far less detrimental to the environment but also as the name suggests, they're infinite. In other words, we could provide a whole city with electricity without neither contributing to global warming nor worrying we would run out of it. However, unfortunately, we haven' t advanced enough to exploit these sources with high performance and currently, we need lots of researches in this area which would evidently cost governments with money and time which have been the main reason for countries to avoid this investment. On the other hand, as people become more aware of the situation, they've rapidly joined the trend to demand the governments to reprioritize their fundings. In conclusion, due to the demerits that fossil fuel brings like an increase in the temperature of the earth, many have proposed to increase the utilization of renewable energies. In my opinion, although it would cost more for this course of action, I'm in favour of it and believe if we don' t act soon enough, by even assuming that there wouldn' t be an energy crisis, global warming certainly would cause an inevitable catastrophe.